Bucks claim bragging rights against Wilts
11 Jun 2022

An excellent all-round display from Ed Bragg (left) helped Bucks record a convincing six-wicket victory over Wiltshire in their National Counties Group 4 match at High Wycombe on Sunday.
The former Worcestershire Academy player took four wickets and scored a half-century as Bucks made up for their disappointing defeat by Wales NC the previous week.
After the start was delayed by an hour with no reduction in overs, Bucks put in the visitors, who struggled against some tight bowling from skipper Tom Hampton.
Thanks to a robust 68 off 100 balls by opener Jake Goodwin, Wiltshire were still well-placed at 111-3 from 27 overs.
But Bragg turned the game with his spell of 4-29 from ten overs and it needed a last-wicket stand of 38 for Wiltshire to reach 187 all out in 46.4 of their 50 overs. Cameron Parsons took 3-44 from 9.4 overs, while Hampton conceded just 15 runs from his seven overs.
With AJ Woodland unable to bat after dislocating a finger while fielding, Chris Marrow opened the Bucks reply with Alexei Kervezee, who produced some spectacular hitting with two sixes and nine fours in reaching 50 off just 20 balls before falling two balls later for 54, with the score on 67-1 from six overs.
After Marrow was run out by a direct hit, Conrad Louth and Bragg added 111 in 20 overs to take Bucks to the brink of victory. Bragg made 58 off 55 balls, while Louth hit 44 from 69. Bucks reached 191-4 from just 29.4 overs to boost their nett run rate in what looks like being a closely-contested group.
Bucks will be hoping to maintain their good form when they play Dorset at Dorchester this Sunday in their third group game.
The injured Woodland is replaced in the Bucks 12 by his High Wycombe teammate Teddie Casterton, while spinner Conner Haddow replaces Jordan McLeod.
Bucks squad: T Hampton (High Wycombe) capt, A Kervezee (Halesowen), C Marrow (Gerrards Cross), C Louth (Wokingham), E Casterton (High Wycombe), E Bragg (Halesowen), R Richardson  (Whitburn), M Payne (Amersham), J Rodnight (Great Brickhill), S Croft (Harefield), C Parsons (High Wycombe), C Haddow (High Wycombe).